Writing Update: Price Changes, Revisions, and Patreon

itlog-cover-_copy_

I feel like it’s been a minute since I’ve talked about In the Land of God. Has it? I don’t know, but it sure seems like it. Not that I expect you guys and gals and everyone-in-between to be keeping tabs on my one and only novel the way I do, but on the off chance you do and have some questions, here are the answers.

Revisions:

Thanks to a helpful aunt with a keen eye, I’ve made some corrections to the first edition of In the Land of God. Nothing too major, and nothing that fundamentally changes the plot, just some grammatical mistakes that slipped through the cracks, and a few added/removed phrases that worked/didn’t work. Also, due to a formatting change, I had to increase the price of the paperback to $12 (USD) to maintain the expanded distribution, but at the same time I’ve changed the price of the eBook. Which brings me to…

eBook Version:

If you have bought an eBook version of In the Land of God prior to Monday,  or purchased a paperback copy at any time, let me know here, or drop me a line at the following email address:

jonesada@mail.gvsu.edu

It’s a PDF copy of the novel, and it is e-reader friendly. For the paperback purchasers who want the revised version of the manuscript, all I ask is that you take a picture of your copy with the barcode and I’ll send that file your way. Again, it’s nothing drastically different in terms of content, just a better product.

Speaking of the eBook version, I have reduced the price to $0.99 (USD). I know that some would argue that lowering the price seems to indicate a cheapening of the content, but in my opinion it’s simple economics. You and I both know that if we see something priced at less than a dollar (even if it’s a cent) we don’t have too many scruples with clicking “buy.” And at the same time, I felt that it was fair to reduce the price of the eBook to $0.99 since I had to raise the paperback price by two dollars.

Patreon:

The final bit of business and what constitutes as “news” for me is that I have started a Patreon page. For those of you who don’t know what Patreon is, it’s basically a way for independent content creators to make a little cash on the side in the way of donations. Right now, if you pledge $1 you get a free copy of the eBook, and it keeps the content free. Now, for someone who might be thinking, “But Adam, is this going to mean the end of the blog?” (some might say, “Oh thank God.”) my answer is a resounding no. I do this for fun (and maybe getting some book sales). The $1 pledge comes down to being a token of appreciation. I will never, never, NEVER figure out a way to throw up a paywall. Without getting too deep into my personal ideology, I don’t think that people should be extorted when it comes to creative content. If you enjoy what you consume, then I think you should pay for it, but at the same time I don’t believe there should be barriers to independent creatives. It hurts the audience and it hurts the artist.

In the Land of God is available on Amazon as a paperback and eBook.

You can click here to get updates about In the Land of God on Facebook.

Like I said, I’m active on Patreon, and if you want to donate you can click here.

Feel free to leave comments below, or click on the blue bird to find me on Twitter.

Until next time!

A lute continua (the struggle continues)

2 thoughts on “Writing Update: Price Changes, Revisions, and Patreon

  1. I’ve heard many good things about Pateron, and I’ll probably create an account for myself soon. Sorry I haven’t read your book yet, but I do plan to. I’m glad everything is going well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey it’s been a minute! As far as Patreon, no success thus far. Don’t worry about it, we’re all busy in our own way. Sitting down and reading a fully-fledged novel is a helluva lot different than reading a blog post haha. Thank you, I hope the same goes for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

