Homemade Bread Recipe (Random post)

It’s come to this…a recipe a post.

The shame! The lamentations! The predictability! The wailing and gnashing of teeth!

Usually I wouldn’t do this, because it just reeks of “suburban soccer mom (or soccer dad, no need to be sexist) who doesn’t know what else to write about.”

Still, here we are. I’ll keep it short and sweet.

In my defense! It’s a cheap product, totally vegan, and if we’re being honest with ourselves we could all use a little less processed food in our lives. Also, I wrote a novel about people living on a farm, so…homemade bread ties in that way? I dunno, now I’m just grasping at straws. Here’s the recipe.

INGREDIENTS:

5 1/2 to 6 cups of all-purpose flour (1,440 ml) (This isn’t a strict number, as you’ll probably want a little extra when you’re kneading the dough; keep the bag handy)

4 1/4 teaspoons of active dry yeast (about 25 ml)

2 teaspoons of salt (about 10 ml)

2 cups of warm water (480 ml) 

*Note: The metric units might be off since I’m from the States, but converters are pretty handy if you’re looking to try this and you’re not from here.

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Combine 2 cups of flour, the yeast and the salt, and add the warm water. Mix until it thickens, then add the rest of the flour.

2. Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface (I use a large plate since it helps keep the flour contained) and knead in flour until the dough is stiff, smooth, and a little elastic. It takes about ten minutes of kneading to get it to the right consistency.

3. Form into a ball and lightly grease with olive oil (just a thin film) and place in a large plastic bag. Set it somewhere warm to rise for about 1 hour (I just put it under the stovetop lamp and that works like a charm). It should rise to double its original size.

4. After an hour, remove from bag and place in a pan. With a sharp knife, make three X’s on the top of the loaf about 1/4 inch deep (just eyeball it; not too shallow, but not too deep)

5. Set the oven to 375 degrees (about 190 degrees Celsius) and place in the oven for 45 minutes.

It’s based on a French Bread recipe I found in an old cookbook, but I modified it a little bit to make it slightly easier.
Hope it turns out as well for you as it turned out for me!
photo.PNG
This was just a little break from the usual content, and I’m pretty damn proud of myself to be honest. There’s another recipe I’ll probably share in the future based on the “Hemingway Burger,” and that feels a little more appropriate given the origin.

Like what you read? Click here to donate at Patreon. It’s only a $1!

My debut novel, In the Land of God is available on Amazon and Createspace as an eBook and paperback.

itlog-cover-_copy_

Feel free to click the blue bird to follow me on Twitter, and leave a comment below. Did you try the recipe? Suggestions for future content? Lemme know.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

