Upcoming Projects: Horror Anthology; Tragic Romance in WWIII; Serialization of In the Land of God 

hiroshimalovers2
Image Source
weird-fiction-pic
Image Source

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m sure some would tell me that working on multiple projects at the same time is insane, and I agree, but there’s nothing criminal with insanity as long as the insanity doesn’t harm anybody.

I’ve mentioned one project in the past, an anthology of weird fiction and horror fiction short stories that will be written with my cover artist/designer, Micah Chapin. One of the short stories, “The Watchers” is available for reading here (for free), and it will most likely be included in the final anthology. Nothing is set in stone yet, but we intend to open each story with an illustration, and the stories will exist in the same universe, or share a common theme. We hope that these stories will be entertaining, but also thought-provoking, making the reader question things like morality, mortality, and the reality of our existence.

The other project I’m working on is my next novel concerning a concept I’ve had since the end of high school. I don’t want to divulge too many details, but it’s a tragic romance set in the midst of a Third World War. More details will come as work progresses, but I’m pleased to announce that I have already written 10,000 words, words that I have forgotten about since they’ve been crammed into a digital drawer on my hard drive.

Why wasn’t that my first novel instead of In the Land of God?

This named (but unnamed) story is a bit more complex than In the Land of God. In the Land of God is fairly linear without too many deviating plot points; this story is neither of those things. Yes, it’s still linear, but it jumps around to more characters with each chapter focusing on a different story. These various stories interconnect at times, subtly, with less focus on dialogue and more focus on action and nonverbal exposition. To be quite frank, I’m astounded 17-year old Adam came up with the idea in the first place.

Chances are, it won’t be as long as In the Land of God since it takes place over the course of a summer instead of over the course of 30-plus years, which means it might be a faster novel to write. I’m hoping to have it ready to go by the beginning of summer 2017, but let’s not all hold our breath for that release. There’s still a fair amount of work to be done. I just know that it will be easier to complete with one novel under my belt. I’ll have to see what the winter looks like in terms of school, work, and life.

 

I’ll drop this hint: it would be appropriate for this novel to be released at the start of the summer.

 

The anthology…well, who knows when exactly that will be ready to publish? I haven’t talked to Micah about an estimated release date, but I’m hoping for a Halloween 2017 release date. That seems appropriate for this kind of anthology.

All I know is that it will be easy to bounce back-and-forth between these two projects. For the novel, I already have some written material and the same goes for the anthology. With the anthology, I can write one story then refocus my attention and write a chapter or two for the novel. Here’s the other positive: they’re both speculative fiction projects. Now, the novel is firmly rooted in reality (for the most part) and it will be literary fiction, but it will be easier to jump between mindsets considering the stories take place in unknown, alternate futures.

 

Well, alternate for the time being. We’ll have to see just how alternate a post-apocalyptic future is in the coming months and years.

 

Here’s one last project I plan on doing that involves In the Land of God: I plan on making each chapter available for free on here; each week a new chapter. I must figure out when I want to start the serialization, and the day I plan on releasing each new chapter. There are 42 chapters, some longer and some shorter than others, so it might make more sense to release two or three chapters at once as opposed to once a week.

I’ll just have to see what works out.

One last thing, I had a radio interview on December 1st and I still have to upload it to YouTube to embed in a blog post. That should be up in a few days (if not tomorrow).

Do any of these projects stand out to you? Any you don’t care about seeing? Make sure to leave your feedback in the comments section or find me on Twitter (@ahahnjones).

Thanks for reading, and I hope you stick around.

A luta continua.

In the Land of God is the debut novel of Adam Jones. It’s a story of multi-generational strife in a Midwestern family set during the First World War and the Great Depression. It’s available on Amazon as an eBook for $2.99 and as a paperback for $9.99.

One thought on “Upcoming Projects: Horror Anthology; Tragic Romance in WWIII; Serialization of In the Land of God 

Leave a Reply

