In the Land of God (eBook edition) – Available on the Kindle Store!  Reviews welcomed!

Here we are, after a hectic dash to the finish line my debut novel, In the Land of God, is now available on Amazon as an eBook for $2.99, and the print-on-demand version is coming tonight or tomorrow for $9.99 (if eBooks just aren’t your thing).

Whew.

It’s strange, after nearly three years of working on this novel I can’t believe it’s done. I’m not sure what to think, or how to act now that I’m technically a published author. I can’t shake that little part of self-doubt that says, “Well, self-published author…” but, what do you do?

I talked about it in my last post, but one of the major questions I get asked is, “Why did you write it?”

It might sound cliche, but it’s because I had to write it. I needed to tell this story, and if even one person reads it and enjoys it then it will be worth it. Although I hope more than one person reads it.

The way I think of it, it’s like being in a conversation and having something you want to say. It’s frustrating to stay silent when you feel like you can contribute to the discussion, and the beautiful thing about writing is no one can tell you not to speak in the conversation. Sure, people might ignore you, but you can’t be silenced. I’ve talked about it in An Introduction to Self Publishing (Part 1 of a Series), and I’ll say it again: self-publishing provides an excellent platform for anyone with a story to get their story out there. We can be the judges. I’ll be honest, I’m not a huge fan of Fifty Shades of Grey, but that doesn’t mean EL James shouldn’t have been allowed to publish her work, and that doesn’t mean her audience shouldn’t have been allowed to enjoy it.

A follow up, then, is the question, “How did you do it?”

Sarcastic answer: Hell if I know!

Honest answer: Hell if I know!

All kidding aside, it took time and patience. There were times where I lost focus, got busy with school, work, life in general, and never thought it would ever get out there. I toyed with the idea of finding a publisher. I grappled with myself over traditional publishing vs. self publishing (and Judgment Call: Self Publish or Traditionally Publish? (Part 4 of a Series) was part of that argument with myself), and thanks to the indirect prodding of a few people I decided to take the plunge and go the DIY route. I’m not sorry I did.

The writing process itself is all about AIC Time (aka Ass-in-chair Time). You aren’t going to write a book in a night, or a week, or even a month. Yes, you might get the rough draft done in a month (you disciplined overachiever), but editing, getting feedback, and the publishing process takes a long time. A VERY long time. I worked on editing and getting the book ready for publishing over the course of two months and I still felt crunched.

And here’s the thing, even with it written and published there’s still more work to do with it.

Fliers, advertisement business cards, talking to local indie bookstores about stocking physical copies, potential public events, social media promotions and on and on and on…

I know some might think that I could have avoided that by going the traditional route, but it seems nowadays if you’re a writer you’re also a self-promoter.

JD_Salinger.jpg
JD Salinger would have been screwed. (Image Source)

For now, I’m going to enjoy Thanksgiving break, relax, and breathe easy knowing that the heaviest of the heavy-lifting is done.

If you want to buy a digital copy, you can find it on the Kindle Store for $2.99 and the print-on-demand version will be coming very soon (like, tonight or tomorrow).

Check it out and feel free to leave a review on Amazon, on here, or find me on Twitter (@ahahnjones)

Thanks for reading, and I hope I can say the same about reading In the Land of God.

A luta continua

2 thoughts on “In the Land of God Now Available as eBook & Print-on-Demand Coming Tonight! (Hopefully…or tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

